FANTASY


 I often tread unceasingly, on the fantasia path of euphoric love,

Candidly, all ominous phobias that impend, I recklessly shove.

Following hypnotically the silver gleam of that starry moment,

Reaching for the unfeasible target, that’s enticingly dominant.

Fervidly believing that I would this time sure-footedly succeed,

All my previous traumata, I would hereafter positively recede.

Eradicating the searing hurt embedded in my heart and mind,

I would engrave an idealistic milestone of its own sweet kind.

Presto! Oh do I? Do I hear and feel a familiar appalling alarm,

Or is it just my sub-conscious playing its hallucinating charm.

I halt, ponder, assure-re-assure, to the dismay of my affected pace,

Gosh! I head further to be led to entwine & entangle in a tangible lace.

I scream for my miraculous knight to unshackle me by his golden sword,

Engulf me in his steely embrace, reciprocating by this deserving reward.

Oh! I do hear the hoofs, I do hear the clattering of his ironic chains,

Yes! I sniff his aromatic presence & I stretch for his horse’s reins.

Alas! But my sight is in for a victimized shock, my mouth agape,

A Satan behind the mask butchers me to infinity via a mass rape.

I drop dead with a thud on the spot, like a metamorphic vegetable,

Never had I been more lost, disillusioned, grieved, bloody & vulnerable.

At last the clanking fades, vision blurs & finally the horror subsides,

My body twitches, my nerves & veins take drastic roller coaster rides.

I attempt to gather myself, convinced that it was an erroneous lane taken,

Least aware, tender hearts are invariably led to the route of the forsaken.

                                                           

By  SEEMA KAPOOR

  1ST NOVEMBER 1996.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

