THE BIBLE…WORD OF GOD


I was familiar with the Bible since my childhood as a tiny version of it was a cherished item, of my possessions. It had adorable graphics and the most endearing side of it was the story of Jesus Christ. I would peruse it on a daily basis, tirelessly, overwhelmed with the same kind of emotions each day. Excited to re-start the awesome journey of Jesus, mid way an earnest desire to grasp and obey, towards His crucifixion would carry on my reading with teary eyes & blurred vision. Would invariably finish the book in acute pathos and also an undercurrent anger burning in, towards the false witnesses of Him, fervently believing…”if only I was there and could hide Him or protect Him”. Yes! I adored Him…as a child. How & when our alliance began, I cannot pin point since I knew Him from the beginning of my existence & believed that He was the God of my life. Everything about Him was so appealing; my hunger for Him was never sated. I would befriend Christian classmates, in solemn expectation to hear of Him more & more. I probably envied every Christian on earth as I felt like an outcast in the “circle” of Jesus.

In spite of taking birth in a Hindu family & cultured by the Hindu standards, nothing could alter my mind-set of Jesus. With time, I got aware that it is the “Calling of Jesus”, none out of their own sweet will can belong to HIM! Surely, the missionary influence of my convent school was in His plan too, to groom me towards Him. No amount of nagging and thrashing from elders could brain wash me to follow suit on their religious roots. I had adorned my finger with a golden cross ring; which I simply loved, when I was 6 years old. Soon I was to attend a family wedding, the minute a cousin brother-in-law spotted it on my finger, he tactfully asked me to show it to him for a closer look. I beamingly & trustingly handed it over to him. The next second I was sobbing uncontrollably as he threw it out of the window. I cried & squealed, but nothing could coax them to send me on the street to search for it… all I could see were idiotic grinning faces all around me, my mom too! He got away, rather, was looked up to for the hideous act, as he was the “Jamaai Raja” (son-in-law) of the family. He succeeded in his mission then, but I took the plunge further, today I am the strongest in Christ… Baptized, a staunch Christian, a follower, a believer, and I have many gold and diamond crosses to adorn myself with.

We all waver in our teens…I too fell prey to it. Never did I stop loving Jesus & His story… the 4 gospels of the New Testament… However, I acquired an indifference towards the rest of the Bible, say the Old Testament & the rest…thinking it was man written. I was against the idea of following manmade concepts…I still do not like to follow quotes & concepts of so-called “Great People”. None can ever impress me with such. Anyway, in my adulthood, I finally entered that “Circle” of Jesus…that I vied for since my childhood… this time no detractors to subjugate my allegiance to Jesus… I boldly entered the Church…the House of God, legalized my relationship n fellowship…got Baptized, & lifted the Bible in my hands…THE WORD OF GOD.

I began from the beginning of the Bible…the Old Testament…Wherein, the very first page of Genesis…teaches…the BEGINNING. The Bible started unfolding itself to me, revealing its holiness, purity, power, wisdom, history, facts, secrets, mysteries & above all…the Trinity of the Father, Son and the Holy Spirit. Its credibility amazed me, inspired me, spoke to me, miraculously turned me and my life upside down, touching n jolting me from the crown of my head to the soles of my feet…I was never the same!!! My point of view altered to HIS point of view, the perspective of Jesus became my perspective…I learnt to abide in Him, through Him & for Him…”Taste and see…The Lord is Good” My outlook n principles of life, world, relations, values, beliefs, desires, ambitions, feelings…all took a drastic somersault.

I learnt and realized the magnitude behind that tiny book that I once held in my childhood… no more did I feel any remorse towards those false witnesses…nor did my eye sight blur at His crucifixion…rather it makes me smile in reverence and shed spiritual tears of God fearing Awe… His journey still excites me & His words make me bow in absolute obedience. It is most beautiful to dwell in His Wisdom, His Spirit and in His Truth. It’s awesome and amazing to know why He came on earth, how He came on earth, why He chose the Cross, He rose from the dead, He will come again…and who He is…Hallelujah.

Today the Bible is my favourite book on earth, imagine, the entire Bible was written over a period of 1400 to 1800 years; from around 1450 B.C.(the time of Moses) to about 100 A.D.( the death and resurrection of Jesus Christ); narrating the prior times too, right from the Creation, by more than 40 different authors. It is a compilation of 66 books, from the Old Testament…”the shadow”, to the New Testament…”the substance”. Yet the entire Bible is in one accord and whole; flowing together, merging with each other in Spirit. HOW? Because it was written under the guidance & inspiration of the Holy Spirit…Every word, each prophecy has been fulfilled until now and will be fulfilled further. It is evident that the Bible has been written by the Hand of God…& The Bible is… the Word of God.

The Bible also says…”In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God. He was with god in the beginning. Through Him all things were made; without Him nothing was made that has been made. In Him was life, and that life was the light of all mankind………..The Word became flesh and made His dwelling among us. We have seen his glory, the glory of the one and only Son, who came from the Father, full of grace and truth.” No wonder Jesus said….”I am the truth, the way and life”…. HALLELUYA.